On She Goes

poem, poems, poetry, writing

Drinking whiskey with ice,

Smoking a cigarette,

On the cold patio I decide to write.

Light up another butt

And think about you and us.

Think about why you parade through my brain.

You have checked away from me long ago.

I just don’t care about much.

Thoughts far from my lungs

And whirling head.

We can all take flight.

But where will we land?

I’m still standing.

But it takes coffee and hope.

Why you parade through my brain, I don’t know-

Tomorrow, I hope I’m not broke.

Just yesteryear we went to the trees.

Sharing a drink and a smile under an umbrella.

The world was so light and all I wanted to do was be there.

Now all I want to do is be there.

Instead, I sit drinking whiskey with ice,

Smoking a cigarette,

And sitting on my patio trying to write.

Leave a Reply

