Spin Cycle Coin Laundry

Benjamin Jenkins, poem, poems, poetry, writing

A cork billboard.

A lost and found.

A village square.

 

Hanging forgotten is

A house key,

A garage key,

Or a shed key.

Not an off key remark.

The owner will pinch the empty mark

On their key ring.

Memory sparking.

 

A cork billboard.

A lost and found.

A village square.

 

Cards for business,

Tacked by candy colored plastic.

A student I.D. card;

Graduate.

Her smiling face a façade

Of the living relative.

How long have I been hanging here?

That’s embarrassing.

 

A cork billboard.

A lost and found.

A village square.

 

Like worms on fishing lines,

Individually cut phone numbers flutter.

Phoenix Paintings.

The bottom half torn away.

Fax machines stand vacant.

My colors buzz, warm and fluffy.

I leave before

I am lost in their eternity.

 

A cork billboard.

A lost and found.

A village square.

One thought on “Spin Cycle Coin Laundry

  1. Ben, this is the first of your poems I have read. I’ve read it now three times and enjoy it more each time I read it. At the second reading, it became not just words, but a visual rendering of something both concrete and felt. I bet I’ll read it again.

Leave a Reply

