Dialect Robbery

Benjamin Jenkins, poem, poems, poetry, writing

I wish I could speak every language.

Only so I could understand an individual soundly.

Music is the language of the universe.

Sound waves digested as provoked thought.

Sound waves digested as pooling emotion.

 

I wish I could speak every language

Only to argue my opinion closer to the point.

Letting racist bias get the first word

Letting Ignorance get the first word

 

I wish I could speak every language.

Only to describe color as the vibrant soliloquy that I see.

Language is a barrier that keeps us separated by vocabulary.

Instead of gesticulating and hollering.

Instead of changing the tone and pitch of my misfire word.

 

I wish I could speak every language.

I would sit and smile at the beauty of communication.

Reveling in the human connection

That being singular lingual robs from me.

3 thoughts on “Dialect Robbery

Leave a Reply

