The Garden of Living Flowers: Pg.3

Benjamin Jenkins, Screenplay, Script, Short Stories, The Garden of Living Flowers, writing

INT-HALLWAY-NIGHT

 

Zach and Patrick approach Holly and Stephen. Holly is leaning her back on the wall smoking a cigarette. The some sends a long tendril up to the ceiling. She has her head turned from the approaching boys, talking to Stephen with an upset tone.

 

HOLLY

I know! She comes to my birthday dressed like that and I’m all like-

 

ZACH

Hi Hollywood.

 

HOLLY

Zach! Thank’s for coming! I didn’t even recognize you- Mr. Narcissus.

 

Holly curtseys, She holds her cigarette up and the smoke traces the air.

Stephen stands silently, arms crossed at his chest.

Zach and Patrick stare at him for a moment not knowing who he is.

 

HOLLY

This is Stephen (She pauses a moment to read his nametag). Stephen-uuuh, VIOLA! Haha!

 

PATRICK

Hi Stephen, I’m Pat. How do you fit into this game of reservoir dogs?

 

Patrick extends his hand for a shake.

Stephen ignores Patrick’s outstretched hand. He takes Holly’s cigarette and takes a drag.

 

 

STEPHEN

I came with Tyler.

 

ZACH

Tyler? You mean Tyler-

 

HOLLY

AAAAAAH! NO NAMES ZACHARY! He is Tyler Gerbera tonight. I know, I made all your nametags personally.

 

Holly perks at this bit of information with pride. She takes the rest of the cigarette from Stephen and gives them a grin.

 

STEPHEN

And they look lovely like you hun.

 

ZACH

Aaaaaanyway, have you seen Tessa, Holly?

 

HOLLY

You’re gonna have to find her stud. I’ll give you a hint. I think I saw her last near the keg.

 

ZACH

Where’s the keg?

 

HOLLY

You really don’t know how to play games do you?

 

ZACH

What’s that supposed to mean? You know I’m leaving tomorrow? I am heading backpacking around Europe. Gonna sample the absinthe, take a train, maybe take in a bull fight.

 

HOLLY

Impressive.

 

STEPHEN

Hey stud, you wanna play a game?

 

PATRICK

Can I get one of those smokes Hollywood? It’s cool if we smoke in here?

 

HOLLY

Well, I am. Cause it’s my party and my place. But, I like ya sweetheart so smoke away.

 

Holly produces a fresh cigarette for Patrick and gives it to him with a wink.

Patrick places the cigarette between his lips and leans into the lit candle on the table next to them.

He moves over and stands in line on the wall with Holly and Stephen.

 

ZACH

Did you just call me stud?

 

HOLLY

Yep!

 

ZACH

Not you.

Stephen reaches out with a black marker and slashes a black line on Zach’s hand.

 

STEPHEN

Now anytime you say the word “drink” you get a slap. The only way you can turn it around is to do a double shot. Welcome to the game.

 

ZACH

Are you insane? A double shot of what?

 

STEPHEN

Liquor, obviously. Stud.

 

PATRICK

Like, a proper slap? Hey! You really are friends with Tyler, I used to play this same game in High school but it dealt with farts and doorknobs.

 

ZACH

Patrick, be quiet. Holly, let’s all take a hit of that Vodka you got there. Get this ass off my back.

 

Holly picks up the bottle and shakes the liquid, it is just enough for them all to take one swig.

 

STEPHEN

Doesn’t look like enough stud.

 

HOLLY

Let’s have a toast! You first Patrick.

 

She hands him the bottle. Patrick sticks the smoking cigarette, ember side up in the Lilly on his shirt.

 

 

PATRICK

I DRINK TO A GOOD FRIEND LIKE ZACH- ER (reads his nametag) ZACH NARCISSUS. YOU WILL BE MISSED BUD!

 

Patrick takes a huge drink and hands the bottle to Holly.

 

HOLLY

I drink to ALL of YOU! And, making my party such a wonderful garden of live flowers!

 

She laughs and takes a drink, passing the bottle to Stephen.

 

STEPHEN

I drink to Lewis Carroll for making that reference possible.

 

He drinks with everyone looking on in confusion. He passes the empty bottle to Zach. Zach takes the bottle not noticing it is empty. He thinks deeply at what to toast.

 

ZACH

TO HOLLY! For throwing such a lovely Birthday party, and an excellent going away party. I drink-

 

Stephen slaps him for saying the word “drink”. Zach cries out in shock and the bottle goes flying out of his hands.

 

ZACH

YOU! I’m gonna beat you! Everyone has said dr-

 

Stephen raises his flat hand at the ready for him to finish the word.

 

ZACH

What gives? I’m gonna sock you the next time you touch me.

 

STEPHEN

It’s the rules stud, you’re marked.

 

Patrick and Holly’s snickering fuel Zach’s fury. Zach grabs the bag of 40’s from Patrick.

 

ZACH

Come on Pat, Let’s go find the fridge.

 

PATRICK

I’m gonna stay and finish this.

 

Patrick plucks the cigarette from the flower pinned to his shirt and relights it on the candle.

 

ZACH

Fine, where’s the kitchen?

 

Holly points down the hallway, over Zach’s shoulder.

 

ZACH

I gotta find Tessa. I have no time for this stupid game. We’re not done Stephen- touch me again. I swear to god.

 

With a growl, Zack turns and takes off down the hall. He bumps passed other groups of people laughing and talking.

Leave a Reply

