Gone to seed

Benjamin Jenkins, life, poem, poems, poetry, writing

The footprint is unavoidable.

My soles impress the Earth with pressure;

Gravity’s lovesick pull.

What am I to do?

 

A flowered dandelion gone to seed,

Ready to strip for the breeze.

Strapped to this asteroid.

Cut the forest; mill tree into plank and mast.

Cut the Earth; refine carbon and ceramic to break tether.

Cut a trajectory determined by fate.

Fascinated by the drill for social connection,

Interested in building endless electronic storage,

Compelled by the vastness of our surrounding universe.

Memory fueled REM sleep mimics the abyss of the universe

Add another layer to that vicious, wild enfold.

Claim a piece of space, make the mistake in thinking

It belongs to Us because we mapped it.

 

It’s worth it.

 

The footprint is unavoidable.

My soles impress the Earth with pressure;

Gravity’s love sick pull.

What am I to do?

 

Tap a message on screen, not paper.

Delivered by wing of light, not pigeon.

I explore face down and trusting:

I’ll never find myself lost, when I have a signal.

I’ll never find myself lost, when I hold a Master Card.

I’ll never seek direction by the neighbor-

Ask Google, Our collective unconscious,

Search a live map of Our modern physical structure

Upgrade the tracking device;

Sprint and Tmobile promise free trade in,

It fits within my pocket.

Connect our nerves to the equipment,

Bring a new meaning to the company Droid.

 

It’s worth it.

 

The footprint is unavoidable.

My soles impress the Earth with pressure;

Gravity’s love sick pull.

What am I to do?

Leave a Reply

